Harness bar

Dragstrip, autocross, and all track posts go here.

Moderator: Series8217

Series8217
1988 Fiero Track Car

Harness bar

Post by Series8217 »

I recently finished building and installing a harness bar in my '88 Fiero. I designed it so no parts need to be removed from the car except the B-pillars, the stock seatbelt can still be used, and no holes need to be drilled in the chassis.

Note that I am not a professional safety equipment builder, and I do NOT recommend building your harness bar the same way I built mine! Use a professional race shop and install a roll bar if you intend to use a race harness. Race harnesses harness bars and roll bars are NOT to be used on the street.

Two holes midway up the B-pillar are uncovered by peeling back a rubber sheet:

I designed a bracket to go over these holes. I mock up all my brackets in cardboard, then trace them onto the material to be cut on a bandsaw, and bend it using my vice and a hammer or adjustable wrench:

This is a mockup of the inner/backing bracket that goes inside the B-pillar:

There is a hole at the bottom of the B-pillar that's big enough to fit my arm through to feed the inner backing plate into place. I had two M12 nuts welded to the backing plate so I don't have to fumble with nuts on the inside.

I bent the harness bar from 1.5" OD, 0.120" thickness 4130 "chrome moly" steel using a JD Squared Model 32 manual bender:

The "hump" clears the center console. Without the center console in place, the bar can be straight.

The brackets (inner and outer) were cut from 3/16" 4130 steel plate and bent in my vice:

I may add another M8 or M12 bolt in the 3rd hole, but I don't think it's really necessary.

If anti-rotation bars are desired, the main harness bar can be tied into plate bolted to the OE shoulder belt mounting points. Here are mockups of some brackets for this purpose: