Max input shaft rpm on a getrag?

Real tech discussion on design, fabrication, testing, development of custom or adapted parts for Pontiac Fieros. Not questions about the power a CAI will give.

Moderators: The Dark Side of Will, Series8217

crzyone
JDM Power FTW

Max input shaft rpm on a getrag?

Post by crzyone »

Shaun and I were discussing building high rpm engines for fieros.

Is there a limit to the amount of rpm you can put through a getrag? I heard it becomes hard to shift at arounf 7500-8k rpm

Thoughts?
Blue Shift

Post by Blue Shift »

Am I smoking, or did I read somewhere that it's rated to like 7K maximum input shaft speed?

I dunno how much you could spin it and still get it to work acceptably. Or for how long.
donk_316
Booooooost

Post by donk_316 »

I first heard this and thought "bullshit".

1970's 4spds can be spun to 9000 rpm and still shift with no issues. BUT im no expert at this. I could see this being an issue with automatics not being able to shift at high rpms. but not manual trannies.
Resident Import Elitist
-------------------------
1991 Skyline GTR
(OO\ SKYLINE /OO)
p8ntman442
cant get enough of this site!

Post by p8ntman442 »

with good synchros, the speed of the shafts should not matter. The only difference in 1k rpm and 10k rpm is the centripital force applied to the synchros. This may have a gyroscopic effect on the lateral movement of the synchro, but I highly doubt it will effect it enough that your strong arm cant shift it.

This assuming your tranny is in good condition, no chipped gears, no pitted bearings. end serious post here

when I was building my lumina tranny to hold 15k rpm so I could do high speed runs on the salt flats, I had all the gears and shafts ballanced on a small crank ballancer, then shot peened and cryotreated. cost me like 7 grand but the car did 700mph. Thats a car that impressed me.
donk_316
Booooooost

Post by donk_316 »